Picture
I was born in the sleepy town of East Kilbride more than 50 years ago today. I always consider the town something of a dark horse, as not many people know it is actually the largest town in Scotland, with a population of around 250,000 people. I'm not the only "famous" person to come out of East Kilbride, with such names as Ally McCoist and The Jesus and Mary Chain being exports of this Scottish town.

To add a little more about myself, I lived in the Greenhills area of the town. Not the most salubrious of places, East Kilbride has had somewhat of a renovation over the past decade. However, it was not always as nice as it is today. I would like to give a sob story about my harsh upbringing, but I can’t say I had it too hard. My mother and father were both very hard workers, often putting in extra hours to raise me and my three brothers. We were a lower-middle class family so although we were never rich, my parents always made sure to have food on the table.

My mother continues to be the kindest and most generous woman I have ever had the pleasure of knowing. My father was strong-willed, stubborn and quick to anger, but he never laid a finger on me or my brothers. For that I am always thankful. We were typical of Scottish families of that era, not having much but being happy for what we had.

In this blog I would like to talk about my upbringing and coming of age in the town of East Kilbride. There’s lots to tell and I look forward to sharing it all with you.





Leave a Reply.